We’re turning the big 5-0 this year! To celebrate, we are digging into our archives to showcase the evolution of our beautiful historic building, share stories of our past and honor those who have helped us become the business we are today.
Taken in 1898, this picture shows off the interior of what is now Paddington Station! Did you know that our building used to be home to J.P Dodge and Son’s Furniture?
John Page Dodge arrived in Ashland in 1883 and operated a successful furniture company in partnership with two sons, Louis and Will. Active in civil affairs, he served on the City Council in 1892-93 and was elected Mayor in 1896.
Construction of J. P. Dodge’s new building on East Main began in 1904, the first of a group of three new business blocks built adjoining the Opera House (now home to Three Penny Mercantile, More Fun Comics, Sew Creative and other businesses). Construction of the building was largely completed by August at a cost of $5,500. In 1947, as an element of the modernization of this area, the Dodge building was stucco-clad, obscuring some of the original detailing. Today, the first floor storefront substantially reflects the 1947 remodeled appearance, although some of the elements of the original 1904 design remains.